Short introduction to the hows and whats of the translation

Let me start with the usual: I don’t speak Mandarin/Cantonese/Taiwanese/etc. The way I translate the chapters is using ye ol’ Google Translate. And Yabla. When the sentences make no sense, I have to break them down in single characters and translate them all. I’m slowly getting the hang of it.

If you’re reading the translation and have any comment whatsoever, feel free to post it. If there are mistakes in the translation, misspellings etc, feel free to let me know. I don’t get upset about constructive criticism (it’s just so happens to be the way I learned English. Learned the grammar all by my old self, then had someone correct me whenever I used a wrong word when chatting. We live and learn, don`t we?). Anyway, humans love their communications, so yeah, just leave any comments if you have them.

I started doing this for a simple reason: wanted to read this and that novel, but they were dropped by the translator. So all I could do was to arm myself with Google and Yabla (I’m sure they will soon be my new husbands. My first husband was my first laptop. We had a good, long marriage *sighs*). And I think I will stick to them (I have a huuuuuugggeeee list of novels that have been dropped and I really wanted to read). Again, if you have any suggestion, comment to let me know.

And now, the most important point (probably?). I cannot make any promises. This week y’all can get 20 chapters (yes, I’m exagerating. That probably won’t happen. Ever), and next week you might get none. I lead a spoonie life so “planning”, this weird world doesn’t exist in my vocabulary. I’m even having a hard time remembering what it means *dry laugh*

PPS, as you might have guessed already, stands for Plumpy PipSqueak. I’m the plumpy one and my cat, since he’s all lean and healthy now, is the pipsqueak-er. I put the acronym in bold so you can simply ignore my little comments if you don’t want to read them.

Terms in italics will usually be terms that I left in their original language, either because I like it better the way it sounds or there is no equivalent in English.

If I think of anything else, I’ll update this page. Cheers for reading.

Leave a comment